A Suffragist's Guide to the Antarctic (Compact Disc)

A Suffragist's Guide to the Antarctic By Yi Shun Lai, Jade Wheeler (Read by) Cover Image
By Yi Shun Lai, Jade Wheeler (Read by)
$39.99
Special Order-Please Call For Availability

Description


A teen's fight for suffrage turns into one of survival when her crew's Antarctic expedition ship gets stuck in the ice in this historical novel told in journal entries perfect for fans of Gary Paulsen and The Downstairs Girl.November 1914. Clara Ketterling-Dunbar is one of twenty-eight crew members of The Resolute--a ship meant for an Antarctic expedition now marooned on ice one hundred miles from the shore of the continent. An eighteen-year-old American, Clara has told the crew she's a twenty-one-year-old Canadian. Since the war broke out, sentiment toward Americans has not been the most favorable, and Clara will be underestimated enough simply for being a woman without also giving away just how young she is. Two members of the crew know her nationality, but no one knows the truth of her activities in England before The Resolute set sail. She and her suffragist sisters in the Women's Social & Political Union were waging war of a different kind in London. They taught Clara to fight. And now, even marooned on the ice, she won't stop fighting for women's rights...or for survival. In the wilderness of Antarctica, Clara is determined to demonstrate what a woman is truly capable of--if the crew will let her.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797177922
ISBN-10: 1797177923
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication Date: February 13th, 2024
Language: English