Sylvain Neuvel Live Virtual Q&A

Join Best of Books and author Sylvain Neuvel as we discuss his newest book, A HISTORY OF WHAT COMES NEXT.

This is a free event and will be streamed on Best of Books' Facebook Live!

February 2nd, 7pm CST

 

 

 

A History of What Comes Next is Sylvain Neuvel's clever historical thriller set in both America and Nazi Germany that stars a cast of alien protagonists. Hiding in plain sight, the Kibsu are only able to have daughters. It’s these women who have been furthering the development of rocket technology behind the scenes since ancient times, waiting for the day when space travel is possible and they can fulfill their destiny and save humanity by taking them to the stars. In this first book of the Take Them to the Stars trilogy, the 98th generation of Kibsu women must battle the bureaucracy and violence of humanity in the middle of World War II, amidst ever increasing dangers both human and alien.  

With A History of What Comes Next, Sylvain Neuvel has written a first-contact sci-fi novel, a spy thriller, meticulously researched historical fiction, and an action-packed adventure—it’s perfect for fans of authors like Michael Crichton and Andy Weir.  Neuvel’s writing here is wildly readable and compelling, and it’s also darkly satirical: A History of What Comes Next is written through the eyes of the women who make progress possible and the men who are determined to stop them.

Sylvain Neuvel is the author of The Themis Files trilogy, the novella The Test (now becoming a feature film starring John Boyega and directed by Gavin Hood), and the forthcoming Take Them to the Stars trilogy. He has taught linguistics in India, and worked as a software engineer in Montreal. He is also a certified translator, though he wishes he were an astronaut. His girlfriend would have him believe that he has too many toys, so he writes about aliens and giant robots as a blatant excuse to build action figures (for his son, of course).

 

Event date: 
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 - 7:00pm
Event address: 
1313 E. Danforth
Edmond, OK 73034
A History of What Comes Next: A Take Them to the Stars Novel Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781250262066
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tordotcom - February 2nd, 2021